When placed head-to-head against the American Diabetes Association diet, how do plant-based diets fare in terms of not only blood sugar, body weight, and cholesterol control, but also mood and quality of life?

Get the preface for Dr. Greger’s brand-new book, How Not to Diet, by subscribing to his free newsletter at https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe.

The three diabetes videos I mentioned are
• Why is Meat a Risk Factor for Diabetes? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/why-is-meat-a-risk-factor-for-diabetes)
• How May Plants Protect Against Diabetes? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-may-plants-protect-against-diabetes)
• Plant-Based Diets and Diabetes (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/plant-based-diets-and-diabetes/)

For those who seek a deep understanding of what diabetes really is and what causes it, check out this series of videos
• What Causes Insulin Resistance? (http://nutritionfacts.org/what-causes-insulin-resistance)
• The Spillover Effect Links Obesity to Diabetes (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-spillover-effect-links-obesity-to-diabetes)
• Lipotoxicity: How Saturated Fat Raises Blood Sugar (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/lipotoxicity-how-saturated-fat-raises-blood-sugar)
• Diabetes as a Disease of Fat Toxicity (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/Diabetes-as-a-Disease-of-Fat-Toxicity)
• What Causes Diabetes? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/what-causes-diabetes)

Thankfully, not only can diabetes be reversed but so can some of its complications. See Can Diabetic Retinopathy Be Reversed? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/can-diabetic-retinopathy-be-reversed) and for diabetic neuropathy, my live annual review From Table to Able: Combating Disabling Diseases with Food (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/from-table-to-able/).

Of course, preventing it is better:
• How to Prevent Prediabetes in Children (http://www.nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-prevent-prediabetes-in-children)
• Preventing Prediabetes By Eating More (http://www.nutritionfacts.org/video/preventing-prediabetes-by-eating-more/)
• Lifestyle Medicine Is the Standard of Care for Prediabetes (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/lifestyle-medicine-is-the-standard-of-care-for-prediabetes/)
• How to Prevent Prediabetes from Turning into Diabetes (http://www.nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-prevent-prediabetes-from-turning-into-diabetes)

There are some foods that may increase the risk:
• Eggs and Diabetes (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/eggs-and-diabetes/)
• Fish and Diabetes (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/fish-and-diabetes/)
• Diabetes and Dioxins (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/diabetes-and-dioxins/)

And others that may help:
• Amla versus Diabetes (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/amla-versus-diabetes/)
• Flaxseed vs. Diabetes (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/flaxseed-vs-diabetes/)
• Diabetics Should Take Their Pulses (http://www.nutritionfacts.org/video/diabetics-should-take-their-pulses/)

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/plant-based-diets-for-diabetes and he’ll try to answer it!

Images thanks to lightsource via Depositphotos.

https://www.NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: https://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate
• How Not to Die: https://nutritionfacts.org/book
• NEW BOOK – How Not to Diet: https://nutritionfacts.org/how-not-to-diet/
• Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: https://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: https://instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org/
• Podcast: https://nutritionfacts.org/audio/

source


Like it? Share with your friends!

0 Comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comments

comments

Send this to a friend